top of page
  • Writer's pictureJax

Behind the story: Marine Awakening

With A Marine Awakening on sale, and A Marine Discovery my focus for NaNoWriMo this month, I want to dive into this series a bit.


My writing career began with Dal Segno, and at that time I didn't know anything about Cam and Sharon's back story beyond what I wrote in DS. Writing Marine Awakening was pure joy for me because I needed to know their story as badly as some of you. But also because these two, more than any other characters to date, are closest to my heart. In fact, I still wear the dog tags seen on the book cover.


To me, Cam and Sharon show what's possible with an epic first love between soul mates who just happen to meet when they're barely adults. They don't start as friends, with a slow burn to love like my other novels. Their story begins with immediate attraction as was rather common in their situation, which I know from experience. The difference between those flings in the female wing and Cam and Sharon is their feelings developed depth quickly, before their youth interfered. To me, this is indicative of a soul mate connection and is not something I'd expect out of just any pairing.


Their story is of two people providing something the other requires for a happy life. Cam needs someone to pull her out of herself, to accept her for who she is, even if she can't name who she is for herself. Sharon needs the stability Cam offers. Her unwavering love, support, and willingness to let Sharon go for her dreams, even when it adds complications to her life is invaluable.


Love between soul mates is not inherently easy. Relationships are hard for everyone, but the right mix of stubbornness, love, and commitment makes it a tad easier for them to last a lifetime. Unfortunately, it's a short lifetime, but that's reality. When we lose someone, it doesn't mean they cease to exist, and their stories should be told. This is just one reason I'm diving so deeply into Cam and Sharon's life together. It's a story that needs to be told and enjoyed, even knowing the ending.


I hope A Marine Discovery is as enjoyable to read as A Marine Awakening. Sometimes I'm blown away that they're still in their mid-20s in this book, but that's what the military does. People mature quickly in many respects, especially in times of war. Cam and Sharon are no different. Yet their playfulness, love, and yes, heat is still very present. I don't know if I can get AMD published in December, but it won't be long. I look forward to completing this first draft and tweaking the story to be just right.


If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page